ISSUE
Step-by-step instructions for Do-It-Yourselfers for how to replace heater core

Read below for the full discussion…
Print Wikipost

Heater core replacement! Step by step with pictures

Old 10-10-2009, 02:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Heater core replacement! Step by step with pictures

Hello all, thanks to everyone that helped me out with a previous post on "How to replace your heater core" This might come in handy this winter . This post has not only "black and white" pictures, but actual digital pictures as well. This was a great help, made things very simple! Enjoy

http://nator.net/files/Heater Core Replacement.doc

Old 10-19-2009, 11:53 PM
i used these instructions today, had whole job done in about 5 hrs, awesome step by step instructions

Old 10-27-2009, 10:18 PM
I'm glad they worked for you. Good job!

Old 12-30-2009, 05:28 PM
just thought id send this back, i am no mechanic, but i followed these step by step instructions with actual digital pictures of all steps, It was a breeze.

enjoy

Old 01-13-2010, 09:09 AM
Great job and article. What type of foam tape did you use on the core?

In my 1999 F150 repair manual it states to squeeze the plastic tabs to release the hoses on the firewall side, did your year require a tool for that?

Thanks again for the great article and pictures.

Forgot to mention I'm originally from Buffalo now living in FL, but not to warm this winter so far!

Last edited by MrTruck352; 01-13-2010 at 09:12 AM.
Old 02-28-2010, 02:52 PM
Actually the foam i used was given to me from the dealership. Im not sure if it was the right one, but it worked. as long as one side is sticky and the other is not, probably 1/4 inch thick. Looks like something used to seal a door, almost like a weather stripping.

In order to squeeze the tabs, you need the special tool. But because i planned to replace the heater hoses, I just chopped off the inlet and outlet ports right off the old heater core on the cabin side of the firewall.