how to put a starter on 2000 f150 ? please help asap

Old 06-20-2008, 04:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
how to put a starter on 2000 f150 ? please help asap

i need help on how to remove and put starter on 2000 ford f150 with 4.6 v8 . i replaced the starter relay twice . once it started and began to smell like burning electrical wires . i cut it off and replaced the starter relay again . still wouldnt start again . checked all fuses seem ok . called a shop . since my truck is broke down at home . they told me to turn the key on and touch pliers to starter bolts to try and start . all it did was spark and not start . the guy at the shop said theres a short in my starter and needs to be replaced . please help asap . i need details instructions . i am a novice . the shop wants a 100 dollars to tow and 300 dollars to put starter on . i can not afford this right now . please help if possible . thanks

Old 06-20-2008, 04:58 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
This is how I changed my starter on my 5.4.. It should basically be the same...

Jack and support the front of the truck and take the front passenger wheel off.

Disconnect the battery cables. (good time to clean and inspect both of them anyway). Give the posts and cable ends a good scrubbing to ruffen up the surfaces.

Remove the wires going to the starter. Get a good mental image of which ones goes where. It should be obvious, but stranger things have happened...

There are 3 bolts holding the starter in place. 2 you can get from the bottom and the last is on top and you get to it the easiest thru the front wheel well (hence, removing the tire).

You will need a varity of extensions and sockets to get them out. I'm sorry, but I don't recall what size socket they took... It's metric, I'm pretty sure..

The old starter should just come out with a little bit of fudging around.