Towing & Hauling

Towing with overdrive off destroyed tranny

Old 06-07-2008, 10:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Towing with overdrive off destroyed tranny

So I was on my way to the beach with my 6000 lb trailer that I have been towing for 2 years now. I most always tow with the OD off (light on dash is on) which keeps me from gear hunting and keeps engine at a steady RPM. At 15000 miles I flushed and replaced fluid with Mobil 1 synthetic and at the time of problem I had just under 28,000 miles.
Back to the story.. about 200 miles into a 600 mile trip, after a stop for fuel, I began merging back onto the freeway, speed maybe 50 ish and I hear a loud bang followed by metal grinding and the truck shaking badly. I though that a sway bar from my trailer or the drive shaft had come out and was dragging the pavement, to give you an idea of the sound. Soon after that OD light begins blinking and TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION pops up in my odometer.
I pull over and see nothing, leaks, metal etc. As I try to start off again I get about 20 mph and the engine goes WOT yet no speed is archived, I drop into 2nd and gain speed again, tranny slipping. Needless to say I drive the remaining 400 miles to the beach in 2nd gear. Ford roadside won't help me because I can still make forward power and gives me the number to the dealer where I am headed, they say call if I break down completely.
Luckily I make the dealer the next morning and tell them my story, the tranny man on staff says "you towed with overdrive off didn't you?" "Yes" I replied "it says so in the owners manual, towing, heavy loads or hilly terrain use overdrive." "Wrong" says all the service guys in harmony "We see this all the time"