2009 - 2014 F-150

2H v. 4A v. 4H

Old 07-15-2012, 10:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2H v. 4A v. 4H

Hi all,

First-time pick up truck owner here. My 2012 F-150 is 4wd and has "2H, 4A, 4H and 4L" on the "gear dial".

I live in a pretty wet part of the country. Sometimes I'll drive in snow and I plan on using 4H for that.

I understand 4H and 4L and 2H. I know that in 4H the truck is always putting power to both of the axles, so at least one wheel in front and one in back have power all the time. I know that 2H is power is only going the rear axle all of the time, so one wheel in the rear has power all the time.

Is 4A like AWD? Meaning, only one wheel has power all of the time, but that the truck is switching back and forth between the front and rear axles? If it's in 4A, will the truck sometimes give power to both axles?

For dry pavement, 2H is the way to go. However, for wet pavement is 4A better? Will my gas mileage be any different for 4A vs. 2H?

Thanks! I'm still learning about 4wd. BTW, I am so happy that I bought an F-150. It's about the best purchase I ever made. What a blast to drive down the road.

Old 07-16-2012, 12:45 AM
4A is auto 4x4 meaning it's in 2wd until the rear wheels slip, the it puts power to the front wheels so you don't lose control

Old 07-16-2012, 01:19 AM
Thanks for the info. Will operating in 4A cause my gas mileage to be any lower than driving in 2H? I don't think that it would because the truck would still operate as now 99.99% of the time - power goes to the rear axle.

It sounds like 4A would be safer than 2H in wet pavement - if the rear wheels lose traction, the front wheels would get the power.

Old 07-16-2012, 01:33 AM