2004 - 2008 F-150

2007 Heater Core

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2014, 12:37 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2007 Heater Core

Hey everyone, I'm new to the F150online forums, although every truck I have ever owned has been F150's and 250's. I'm familiar with other forums, and before I get into my heater core issue, I did search through pages and pages of threads regarding heater core issues, so I didn't just bypass everything and skip straight to asking questions. But I have some confusion regarding some of the posts made about heater core issues, as compared to other heating issues.

Background on truck- Its a 2007 King Ranch 4x4 Supercrew. I bought it with 88K miles on it about 3 months ago from an older man that owned it for 2 years. He purchased it with 82K miles on it, so he only put 6,000 miles on it in 2 years, which was another reason he was selling it. Just never drove it.

So I drove the truck home, and it performed perfectly. Motor runs great. Truck is super clean, well taken care of. A week into owning it, it over heated on me. Light came on, saying Reduced Engine power. Temp guage was hot. I immediately shut it off and checked coolant levels... Empty... I let it cool down, bought some antifreeze, and filled it back up. Drove to Autozone, they said thermostat got stuck more than likely where the truck hadn't been drove much. Changed out thermostat, topped it back off with antifreeze, and kept an eye on the levels. After 2 weeks, I would notice my coolant level would drop, to where there was nothing in the reservoir, so I started adding water because I knew I was losing it somewhere. I would let the truck warm up, checked underneath it, but no water was dripping from anywhere that it shouldn't have been. We checked the water pump, radiator, etc. All seemed good. Drove it to Michigan, done fine, but before I came home, I had to fill it back up again with water.