1997 - 2003 F-150

Coolant Leak

Old 04-27-2015, 11:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Coolant Leak

Alright guys. Truck is a 5.4L with 196K.

I've been having a problem with coolant filling spark plug wells on the driver side, specifically plugs 6 and 7. I suspected the intake manifold gasket, but when I inspected it further, I noticed that there was traces of coolant ABOVE where the manifold mates to the engine.

Has my intake manifold failed?

The truck only seems to lose coolant when the engine has cooled off.

Old 04-28-2015, 04:05 AM
I'm no expert but have you checked the water pump?

Old 04-28-2015, 05:53 AM
I have.

The water pump is a bit too far away to cause the problems I described.

Old 04-28-2015, 09:02 AM
By a new Dorman intake from ebay and replace it, Dorman intake is better than OEM from Ford and cheaper. Ford intakes crack at the corners causing antifreeze leaks up top and in the valley of the motor. Don't try to tighten it, it will make the leak worst! The plastic is breaking apart from the heat over the years. The new one will out last the truck! Comes w/ built in gaskets/seals. hope this helps ya.

Old 04-28-2015, 09:07 AM
Pressure tester for the cooling system and see where the leaks are coming from. Do it on a COLD engine. Should be able to use one from Autozone or Advanced auto parts. Pay for it and then return it for your money back. That is how they lend tools to you. Ask first! Sorry, should have told you this first!

Old 04-28-2015, 04:40 PM
Originally Posted by RevBiker
By a new Dorman intake from ebay and replace it, Dorman intake is better than OEM from Ford and cheaper. Ford intakes crack at the corners causing antifreeze leaks up top and in the valley of the motor. Don't try to tighten it, it will make the leak worst! The plastic is breaking apart from the heat over the years. The new one will out last the truck! Comes w/ built in gaskets/seals. hope this helps ya.
Originally Posted by RevBiker