1997 - 2003 F-150

How-To: Install Drop Shackles on your 1997-2003 F-150

Old 09-15-2009, 04:59 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Post How-To: Install Drop Shackles on your 1997-2003 F-150

Alright, time for another rediculously long and detailed write-up from yours truly. I'm a newb when it comes to suspension so if you are like me, you will understand how much it helps to have a guide to show you the right (or wrong) way of doing things. First off, this mod is pretty straightforward: It drops the rear of the truck to give it a leveled look. It does this basically like a fulcrum. The longer drop-shackles let the leaf springs ride higher into the wheel wells thus dropping the bed 1" or 2".

Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposed only. I will not be held responsible for any damage or injuries caused by attempting the following

Estimated time to complete: 45 minutes - 1 hour 30 minutes
Estimated cost: $30-$45

Tools Needed:

13/16" deep-socket*
15/16" deep socket**
1/2-inch driver
One pair of drop shackles with pre-installed polyurethane bushings
OEM Ford jack and twisting arm
Jack stands (optional)

* for 1997 & 1998 trucks
** for 1999 through 2003 trucks

1.) Starting out, lets position the vehicle so that the (preferabbly front) tires are chaulked or blocked off to prevent the vehicle rolling

2.) Pick your side. Left or right, doesn't matter, but because it was the closest as soon as I closed the door, I started out on the left.

Eye your target and learn it. Smell it. Taste it. Be it. Look at it in the eye and tell it: "YOU ARE COMING OUT OF THERE!"

3.) Jack the truck up. I recommend using a cinder block or something of the latter to raise it even higher. As for the jack point, YOU WANT TO JACK THE BODY UP, NOT THE AXLE. So I jacked on my HiddenHitch. I used the sidewalk as an added lift and jacked it all the way to maximum extension. Insert jack stands (if you have them) afterwards for safety.