I got stuck while in 2 wheel drive. I didn't have much room to manuvuer
front to back, maybe 6 feet. I flipped the switch and the 4x4 light
iluminated on my dash. Long story short, after an hour of sweating and
digging and wondering why the hell I was stuck because my front axle
should easily move me out of my jam, I manually locked my hubs. I put it
in reverse and rocketed out and almost took out my fence. I hadn't really
noticed but the front wheels were never spinning, I was in 2 wheel drive
all along.

This is my first time stuck and have only used 4x4 for winter driving.
Do I have a problem with the O-rings loosing vacuum or is there some
minumum distance the wheel must travel before the shift-on-the-fly will
engage the front axle?

I know I could just go back out and try it on a dirt road to see if my front
wheels will engage, and I will, but I would like to hear some thoughts.

Thanks,
Jeff

Old 07-23-2004, 09:51 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
if you had to get out and manually lock the hubs that was your problem...even tho you have "shift on the fly" or the turn **** for 4x4...you need to lock the hubs to engage the front wheels. now my guess is that when you put it in 4x4 the frotn axle was spinning but with the hubs unlocked it did not spin the wheels. manual locking hubs are jsut that...manual, you must get out and turn the know to lock them in for the front wheels to receive power formt he axle

the only time it is true "shift on the fly" 4x4 is when you have auto locking hubs that engage by them selves. but unless you lock the hubs before getting stuck...you dont ahve a true "shift on the fly"

if anyone thinks im wrong please let me know

Old 07-23-2004, 09:56 AM